IIIF Conference 2019

24.07.2019 – 28.07.2019 in Göttingen

In July 2019 the annual IIIF Conference will take place at the University of Göttingen. In addition to the various Lightning Talks and lectures, workshops will also be offered on 25.07.2019. Goobi will be represented by a three-hour workshop with the following title:

Creating, delivering and consuming IIIF Manifests within the Goobi Community

Steffen Hankiewicz, Oliver Paetzel & Jan Vonde (intranda GmbH)

25.07.2019, 14:00 – 18:00, University Göttingen, Alte Mensa Conference and Event Center, Wilhelmsplatz 3, 37073 Göttingen, Germany

Description of the workshop

Our comprehensive, hands-on Goobi IIIF workshop is designed to give all participants the skills they need to generate valid, standardised metadata from directories containing images using very simple resources in less than 20 minutes and without further help. The metadata can then be exported as METS/MODS (libraries), LIDO (museums) or even in TEI format for digital humanities. At the same time, Goobi-to-go automatically generates valid IIIF Presentation manifests. That means the images are immediately available via the IIIF Image API and can be used straight away in any number of other IIIF consumers (e.g. Mirador).

In the second part of the workshop, participants will gain an insight into our current developments using IIIF interfaces in combination with machine-learning techniques for various purposes, e.g. to perform image and full text analyses.

Background

Goobi is an open-source application. For over 14 years, it has brought together many cultural institutions in currently 17 countries as part of a single digitisation community, focusing equally on the coordination of both simple and complex workflows (Goobi workflow) for digitisation projects and on the publication of the digitised results of those projects (Goobi viewer). Alongside standardised interfaces such as OAI-PMH and SRU, IIIF plays a crucial role in ensuring interoperability between published digital collections and different external data consumers. In light of the growing interaction with the burgeoning field of digital humanities, the Goobi community needed to make its numerous portals and the collections of many different cultural institutions available in readily consumable form for research purposes. With this in mind, Goobi already supports the IIIF Image API 2.1, IIIF Presentation API 2.1 and IIIF Change Discovery API in draft status as well as Web Annotations und Open Annotations for use in the context of crowdsourcing.

Goobi does much more than simply provide a range of data for other systems and consumers. In fact, the whole Goobi community is now increasingly focused on the use of IIIF APIs in new scenarios. In particular, Goobi makes good use of these interfaces in various ongoing development projects that can harness machine-learning processes to identify or generate new data. Machine-learning techniques based on pattern recognition and text analysis have already been used in the past to recognise publication types and segment content indices. However, now that data can be obtained from standardised interfaces, these techniques are no longer dependent solely on locally stored data from the file system. Equally, the Goobi community now benefits enormously from the latest OCR developments in Tesseract, although without further training data those developments cannot yet provide the desired recognition quality. Working without IIIF is no longer a viable option, whether your development project involves using machine-learning techniques to generate ground truth data and extract illustrations or creating synthetic texts with unusual fonts based on text segments and letter coordinates. Over the last two years in particular, it has become clear within the Goobi community that various IIIF interfaces will be needed if newer projects and therefore newer research data are to be viable in the long term.

Technical requirements

The workshop is designed in such a way that the participants can understand all contents on their own computers. For this purpose, the participants need the computers to meet the requirements and to be prepared for the workshop. Due to the large number of participants in this workshop, it will not be possible for the workshop leaders to carry out individual installation work on the computers of the participants. Please ensure the following for your computers:

Technical requirements for macOS
Technical requirements for Microsoft Windows
Technical requirements for Linux
If you have any technical problems during the preparation of the workshop, please contact us at the e-mail address info@intranda.com as early as possible before the workshop. We will try to help you even before the workshop.

Workshop Notes

For all areas that we will cover in the workshop, we have put together some notes here that will allow you to follow the contents shown step-by-step.

Download Goobi-to-go package
Download Workshop Notes

IIIF Conference 2019

24.07.2019 – 28.07.2019 in Göttingen

Im Juli 2019 findet die jährliche IIIF Conference in der Universität Göttingen statt. Neben den verschiedenen Lightning Talks und Vorträgen werden am 25.07.2019 ebenso Workshops angeboten. Goobi ist hier durch einem dreistündigen Workshop mit folgendem Titel vertreten:

Creating, delivering and consuming IIIF Manifests within the Goobi Community

Steffen Hankiewicz, Oliver Paetzel & Jan Vonde (intranda GmbH)

25.07.2019, 14:00 – 18:00 Uhr, Universität Göttingen, Alte Mensa Conference and Event Center, Wilhelmsplatz 3, 37073 Göttingen, Germany

Workshop Inhalte

In unserem Goobi-IIIF-Workshop zeigen wir praktisch und end-to-end, wie jeder Teilnehmer mit sehr einfachen Mitteln innerhalb von 20 min selbständig in der Lage ist, aus Verzeichnissen mit Bildern valide standardisierte Metadaten zu erzeugen, die den bibliothekarischen (METS/MODS) und musealen (LIDO)  Ansprüchen genügen und wie diese für die Digital Humanities als TEI bereitgestellt werden können. Mit Goobi-to-go werden dabei aus diesen standardisierten Metadaten und Dateien zugleich auch automatisch valide IIIF Manifeste, die sofort in beliebigen anderen IIIF Konsumenten (wie z.B. Mirador) genutzt werden können.

Im zweiten Teil des Workshops gehen wir im Detail auf unsere aktuellen Entwicklungen ein, die für die Bildanalysen und Volltextanalysen auf Machine-Learning-Verfahren auf diesen IIIF-Schnittstellen aufsetzen.

Hintergrund

Die Open-Source-Software Goobi vereint bereits seit mehr als 14 Jahren zahlreiche Kultureinrichtungen aus derzeit 17 Ländern in einer gemeinsamen Digitalisierungs-Community. Dabei hat die Koordinierung einfacher wie komplexer Workflows von Digitalisierungsprojekten (Goobi workflow) einen ebenso hohen Stellenwert wie die Bereitstellung der digitalisierten Ergebnisse für die Öffentlichkeit (Goobi viewer). Neben den unterstützten Schnittstellen für OAI-PMH und SRU spielt IIIF hierbei eine entscheidende Rolle für die Interoperabilität der bereitgestellten digitalen Sammlungen mit verschiedenen externen Daten-Konsumenten. Insbesondere das Zusammenspiel mit den aufkommenden Digital Humanities machte es erforderlich, dass die Goobi Community ihre zahlreichen Portale und Sammlungen verschiendenster Kultureinrichtungen für Forschungszwecke konsumierbar bereitstellte. Aus diesem Grund unterstützt Goobi derzeit bereits die IIIF Image API 2.1, die IIIF Presentation API 2.1, die IIIF Change Discovery Api im Draft Status sowie Web Annotations und Open Annotations für den Einsatz im Kontext des Crowdsourcings.

Doch Goobi stellt nicht nur verschiedene Daten mittels IIIF für andere Systeme und Konsumenten bereit. Stattdessen nehmen die Goobi Entwickler und die gesamte Goobi Community die Verwendung der verschiedenen IIIF APIs auch für neue Anwendungsfälle vermehrt in den Fokus. Insbesondere profitiert Goobi von diesen Schnittstellen für die unterschiedlichen aktuellen Entwicklungsprojekte, die gestützt von Machine Learning Verfahren neue Daten ermitteln oder erzeugen können. So konnten in der Vergangenheit bereits basierend auf Mustererkennung sowie basierend auf Textanalyse Machine Learning gestützte Mechanismen für die Erkennung von Publikationstypen und für Segmentierungen von Inhaltsverzeichnissen implementiert werden, die mit dem Datenbezug aus standardisierten Schnittstellen wie IIIF nicht nur auf lokal vorliegende Daten aus dem Dateisystem angewiesen sind. Ebenso profitiert die Goobi Community derzeit stark von den neuesten OCR Entwicklungen an Tesseract, die jedoch ohne weitere Trainingsdaten noch nicht die gewünschte Erkennungsqualität liefern können. Innerhalb eines Entwicklungsprojekts zur Machine-Learning-gestützten Erzeugung von Ground-Truth-Daten für eine Extraktion von Abbildungen einerseits und andererseits innerhalb eines Projekts für die Generierung synthetischer Texte mit seltenen Fonts auf der Basis von Textsegmenten und Buchstabenkoordinaten ist die Zusammenarbeit mit IIIF gar nicht mehr wegzudenken. Innerhalb der Goobi Community wurde daher insbesondere in den letzten zwei Jahren klar, dass neuere Projekte und damit auch neuere Forschungsdaten nur unter Zuhilfenahme verschiedener IIIF Schnittstellen nachhaltig möglich sind.

Technische Voraussetzungen

Der Workshop ist so ausgerichtet, dass die Teilnehmer alle Inhalte auf den eigenen Computern nachvollziehen können. Hierzu wird auf Seiten der Teilnehmer benötigt, dass die Computer die vorausgesetzten Anforderungen erfüllen und für den Workshop vorbereitet sind. Aufgrund der hohen Teilnehmerzahl an diesem Workshop wird es den Workshopleitern nicht möglich sein, an den Computern der Teilnehmer individuelle Installationsarbeiten vorzunehmen. Bitte stellen Sie daher für Ihre Computer folgendes sicher:

Technische Anforderungen für macOS
Technische Anforderungen für Microsoft Windows
Technische Anforderungen für Linux
Sollten Sie auf technische Probleme bei der Vorbereitung des Workshops haben, so wenden Sie sich bitte möglichst rechtzeitig vor dem Workshop an die E-Mail-Adresse info@intranda.com. Wir werden Ihnen versuchen, Ihnen auch vor dem Workshop noch eine Hilfestellung zu geben.

Workshop Notizen

Für alle Bereiche, die wir in dem Workshop behandeln, haben wir hier einige Notizen zusammengestellt, die das Nachvollziehen unserer gezeigten Inhalte Schritt-nach-Schritt erlaubt.

Download Goobi-to-go package
Download Workshop Notes